Welcome to

Department of Mathematics

The study of mathematics, like the Nile, begins in minuteness but ends in magnificence.

About Department

The P.G. Department of Mathematics was established in 1966 with only two faculty members, Viz., Dr. S. Pattanayak and Dr. B.P. Acharya. Prof. S.C. Dash, the then Professor and Head, Department of Statistics was appointed as the Head of the Department of Mathematics. The Mathematics education under the aegis of the Department has come a long way and boost of producing excellent teachers and researchers besides scores of successful people in other allied professions. To make the mathematics education in Odisha more broad based and participatory, the department took a leading role in founding the ORISSA MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY in 1972 and continues till date as the Head Quarters of the society. Its PG center has successfully provided a leadership and exhibited farsightedness in modifying the syllabi in commensurate with the requirement of time and subject. It has remained as an active centre for quite some time in holding the mathematics fraternity together under the banner of Orissa Mathematical Society. It has engaged itself in modernizing the school mathematics curriculum and writing books in vernacular language to remove the conceptual gaps found in earlier books and with emphasis on lucidity.


News & Announcement