Prof. S.P. Adhikary
Name: Prof. S.P. Adhikary
Designation: Professor (Retired)
Qualification: Ph.D. D.Sc.
Phone No.:
E-mail ID: adhikarysp@gmail.com

Prof. Siba Prasad Adhikary, Ph.D. , D.Sc.

Founder Professor, Department of Biotechnology, Utkal University (2002 – 2009)

Post-Graduate, 1976 (Gold medalist) and Ph.D., 1980 in Botany from Berhampur University, D.Sc., Utkal University, 2000; worked as Lecturer & Reader in Botany (1987-2002) and Professor from 2002 – 2009 of which served as the Professor of the newly established Department of Biotechnology from at Utkal University, Vani Vihar, Bhubaneswar from June 2002 to June 2009 until joining as Professor & Head of Biotechnology and Coordinator of DBT-HRD program at Visva-Bharati Central University, Santiniketan, West Bengal on 9th July 2009. Worked as Vice-Chancellor of Fakir Mohan University, Balasore, Odisha from May 2014 to July 2017. His principal research interest are: (1) Biofertilizers from algae including extension of technology in rural areas of eastern India for entrepreneurship, (2) Biodeterioration of stone monuments of India and their conservation and (3) Biodiversity and bioprospecting of algae and cyanobacteria. Twenty seven students obtained Ph.D. under his guidance; published 172 research papers in peer reviewed journals, 61 chapters in different edited books and authored 5 books/monographs. Worked as a Post doc as well as visiting scientist in several countries 14 different times between 1982 to 2014 {Germany (1982-1983, 1996, 2001, 2006); Japan (1987, 1990, 1991-1992), Czech Republic (2005), Italy (2008, 2009, 2011), Slovak Republic (2008) and Hungary (2011, 2014)}. Executed 17 different research and extension projects funded by external funding agencies of which 6 were from DBT, DST, CSIR, UGC, MOEF-CC, Govt of India and an International collaborative project with Universities of Rome, Florence and Messina, Italy funded by DST, India and Ministry of Science, Education and Culture, Italy while working as a teacher at the Department of Biotechnology, Utkal University.

He was conferred with Samanta Chandra Sekhar Award in Life Sciences by Orissa Bigyan Academy Govt. of Odisha in 1999; Bijoy Govinda Memorial Award in Life Sciences, Bigyan Prachar Samiti, Cuttack,1999; UGC Research Award, 1999; Life time achievement Award in Phycology by Krishnamurthy Institute of Algology, Chennai, 2012; Prof. Harihar Pattanaik Memorial Award in Algology by Orissa Botanical Society, 2012; Dr. B.P. Pal National Environmental Fellowship Award on Biodiversity for 2012 by Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change, Govt. of India; and also young Scientist Award of Indian Botanical Society in 1983. Served as the President of Orissa Botanical Society (2016-17) and President of Probir Chatterjee Research Foundation, West Bengal (2010-2018). Prof. Adhikary was elected as a Fellow of Indian Botanical Society (FBS, 1998); Fellow of National Academy of Agriculture Sciences (FNAAS, 2008); and Fellow of National Environmentalists Association (FNEA, 2011).