Dr. (Mrs.) Aruna Kumari Mishra
Name: Dr. (Mrs.) Aruna Kumari Mishra
Designation: Professor (Retired) (1972-2003)
Qualification: M.Sc., Ph.D. (Utkal)
Phone No.:
E-mail ID:

Born on May 25, 1943 in the princely state of Dhenkanal. Had her school education at Sambalpur and graduated from Ravenshaw College with First Class Honours in Botany and Distinction in the year 1962. She passed M. Sc. in Botany from Ravenshaw College, Cuttack in 1964 standing First in First Class and was awarded University Gold Medal. She joined as Lecturer in Botany in Ravenshaw College on July 15, 1966 and Lecturer in Botany in Utkal University on August 10, 1972. She became Reader in Botany on January 31, 1985 and Professor of Botany in July 13, 1985. She obtained Ph. D. from Utkal University in 1977 working on the topic ‘Effect of obligate parasites on host physiology’. Her area of specialisation is Microbiology and Plant Pathology. She was awarded Commonwealth Academic Staff Fellowship In 1978-79 and worked with Dr. P. S. Nutman, F.R.S. in Soil Microbiology at Rothamsted Experimental Station, U.K. Her subject of study was ‘Light and Electron Microscopic studies on symbolic relation in subclover nodules and Nitrogen fixation”. She has attended number of Summer Institutes workshops and Advanced courses as well as Conferences. She has also participated and organised number of National and International Conferences. She obtained the Fellowship award by National Environmental Science Academy for the year 1992-93 in recognition of her work on Rhizobium. She visited U.K., France while a Post-Doctoral Fellow and Thailand for attending International Conference on Mycorrhizae. She has worked in areas of Phylloplane microflora, Agrochemicals on seed microflora, Nitrogen fixation of legumes, Mycobial contamination of Sal and Sesame, Cowpea Rhizobia, Impact of mine waste soil on growth and N2 fixation of legumes, Effect of foliar spray on Rhizosphere microflora. She superannuated from her service on 31st May 2003. She has more than 100 research papers published and 20 students have obtained Ph.D. under her guidance.